Our TV Debut (!)

I’ve never been one to shy away from the limelight – I quite enjoy talking in public and I find it more exciting than stressful. I also have a bit of an internal battle going on where on one hand I am very pleased with things I achieve or get the chance to do and then on the other I am very disappointed in myself for not being more clever, witty, thinner, nicer, etc. Complicated, eh? 

We were asked to appear on BBC Breakfast this week to talk about our experience of Scarlet Fever and I was very excited and a little regretful of all the biscuits and wine I eat and drink (and thus my dress size!). Joni and I went on a Big Adventure on the train and to Manchester. We had a great time.

Accomplished Commuter

Accomplished Commuter

 

photo 2 (3)

Jumping on the hotel bed

Outside Cbeebies HQ

Outside Cbeebies HQ

photo 3 (2)photo 1 (4)

photo 2 (4)

photo 3 (3)

photo 4 (3)
Joni was a delight. She was perfectly behaved on the train, at the hotel and at the BBC studios. She was charming, hilarious and a healthy level of 3-Year-Old Mischievous. Oh and on watching it back I have realised that my voice is a lot more posh than I had originally thought. We also got to meet All Saints AND my lovely friend Rose whilst we were there – it was really lovely. 

Joni told me she that she 'doesn't even know who those ladies are'

Joni told me she that she ‘doesn’t even know who those ladies are’

I had a bit of an epiphany on the way home: whilst I’m always a little bit proud of things I do it’s my children who will bring me the most joy. I have been beaming ear to ear today – so, so proud of Joni. This little person we created is a force destined to be far more powerful than the sum of her parts. What a poppet. 

photo 5 (2)

Running around Media City in Salford

This post is no way* intended to just be a way of showing photos of us on the telly and meeting people from the ’90s, no siree.
*well, ok. It is. 
Update – you can now view one of the times we were on (we were on twice!) here:
This entry was posted in Childhood, Life, New Experiences and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Our TV Debut (!)

  1. Donna says:

    What an exciting day! And for Joni to already be on TV! Looks like you had a great time! x

  2. Pingback: Seeing red | smallbumbigadventure

  3. aliceharold says:

    Joni looks amazing! What a superstar (you too, obvs)

  4. i don’t think i could ever go on tv! yay for you though 🙂

  5. How exciting! I saw the photo of you with the All Saints on the Sun Jellies Facebook page and recognised you and wondered what it was for! Now I know! x

  6. Lori says:

    haha love the no way, way! Looks like you had a great TV adventure, the onlt time I cam close is when we had to appear on a chat show audience as part of my communication studies A level 🙂 x

  7. Polly says:

    what an exciting day!

  8. globalmouse says:

    Ha ha, I laughed at your disclaimer!! What a brilliant day out and I’m so impressed you can do it – I shrink away from any public speaking occasions but so wish I didn’t. Great photos, what memories!

  9. Fiona says:

    You met All Saints?! Amazing. Well done for appearing on television 🙂 Joni is very cute x

  10. I wish I had seen it! do you have a link! you are so brave! x

  11. Haha! Love the disclaimer. Well of course you should show it off. What an experience. 🙂

  12. Wow looks like you had an amazing time and you both look lovely in the photos – what an adventure and getting to meet the All Saints – win!

    Laura x

  13. abigail says:

    So good! I am the exact opposite of you, talking in front of a group of people gives me the proper willys! And I love those moments when your child acts in ways you thought weren’t possible and make you very proud!

Leave a Reply

