The lost toy

Today will go down in history for two reasons: firstly Wilbur slept from 6-6:30, only waking at 9pm for a bottle of milk. So he can do it then, good eh?

Secondly: It is the day we lost Pete.

20130909-142651.jpg

Pete. Peter Rabbit. Joni’s best buddy. He’s been breastfeed, weaned, cuddled, sicked on, put to bed and played with to within an inch of his life and today I lost him.

I’m so upset. I have cried! Somewhere in Wokingham Town Pete is all alone. Lost forever. When I realised he was gone I retraced our steps and asked in all the shops we went in but he’s gone. I’m holding out hope that we’ll find him somewhere at home, by some miracle, but I know he’s lost.

Poor Pete. Poor Joni!

20130909-142809.jpg
Retracing our steps in the river of my tears (not quite)

This entry was posted in Childhood and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The lost toy

  1. Mammasaurus says:

    Oh no! So sad when toys get lost – I must admit everytime I see a teddy perched on a wall by a stranger picking it up from the floor I well up a bit.
    But don’t tell anyone – don’t want them thinking I’ve gone soft 😉

    • bornin2011 says:

      My husband and I were both so shocked by how upset we were. BIG NEWS is that after phoning all the shops we’d been to and tearfully demanding to speak to the manager I located him in Boots! I then sobbed with gratitude down the phone. Which wasn’t at all the most embarrassing thing ever …

  2. victoria says:

    I can remember when my sister lost my nephews ‘woofy’ we walked everywhere!! In the end we put a totally different dog in the wash and was like ‘oh no! What’s it done to woofy?’ ..worked a treat. Poor pete! He’s had a little adventure 😉

  3. Aw no! Can you put the word around your town? Someone may have seen him x

Leave a Reply

