You Called Him WHAT?! (What’s in a name?)

One of my favourite things to find out is what people have called their new babies and why. I’m very nosey I guess. When I was pregnant with our first baby I had rules about the kind of name we wanted:

1) It had to be unambiguous. Easy to pronounce, spell and would not cause confusion

2) It had to be nice and ‘normal’

3) We both had to agree on it

So, we found out we were having a girl and had a long, long list of names. We loved Matilda, Isabella, Georgina and Harriet. I loved Betty and Anne. I suggested Joni early on and it was vetoed. Then, around 37 weeks I suggested it again and Chris and I looked at each other and knew it was our baby’s name. It contravened all my rules, but, whatever! We loved it. We didn’t tell anyone at all and I loved the surprise when we did tell people (I’ll never forget my mum’s face, she looked surprised and proud).

People have asked some pretty weird questions when hearing her name – the best one is ‘oh, have you heard of Joni Mitchell?’ Erm. Ya.

Joni Mitchell made up the name Joni (her name is Alberta Joan Mitchell) and adopted Joni as her creative name. My Joni is named after her, just to clarify.

As it’s a made up name it doesn’t really have a meaning, but as it probably comes from Joan lets say that it means God is Gracious.

Some people who were less than enamoured with Joni said things like ‘oh well, when she’s older if she doesn’t like her first name she can use her middle name’. Wrong. Unless she prefers Loveday to Joni. Oops. Loveday, aside from being the cutest name ever, is also Chris’s Mum’s middle name – so has meaning there.

Then we got pregnant with our second and those who didn’t like Joni’s name probably wondered what the hell we were going to call the next one! A well meaning relative suggested some, frankly, 80s names and we politely listened and laughed (inside).

names
If I had my way Wilbur would have been spelt Wilber and be short for Wilberforce (of the William variety). However this was heavily vetoed, and in retrospect that’s probably a good thing.

Wilbur means ‘trusted’ and his middle name means ‘defender of men’.

His middle name is Alexander, after my older brother, who Chris went to school with. We probably wouldn’t have met without that introduction (thanks bro).

Don’t you think children just become their name? I can’t imagine mine as anything else now.

I was thinking of writing this post anyway, then I saw this link up on Jennie’s blog Edpsire and thought I’d join in to win a gorgeous Mia Tui bag named after her daughter Matilda Mae.

This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to You Called Him WHAT?! (What’s in a name?)

  1. Lisa says:

    Beautiful names! I loved Joni too but my husbands name is jonny so it wouldn’t work for us x

  2. Hayley says:

    I found this post from looking at the Matilda Mae link up and reading through everybodys name stories – I just had to comment to say I LOVE the name Joni Loveday – beautiful!

  3. Kara Guppy says:

    What gorgeous names!! Choosing names can be so hard, but it’s the agreeing of them that’s worse!

  4. Lovely names, and love the plank with all your names on in hearts too!

  5. PhotoPuddle says:

    OMG, I can’t believe people were actually so mean about the name Joni, so rude. I think it’s a lovely name.

  6. Polly says:

    Joni (or Yoni as it will be pronounced) is also a Finnish boys name 🙂

  7. I wanted a Wilbur. I wasn’t allowed. I have a William instead. Damn Stephen for pulling out the “it was my grandfather’s name” card. Sob. xx

Leave a Reply

