What I will teach my children

When I was pregnant with Joni we had lots of discussions about how we would like to bring her up, what we would teach her and the positive and negative things about our own childhoods.

We decided that if we could impart only one thing to Joni and our other children it would be that there is no problem too big that we can’t work it out together. There is nothing that will ever happen to them that we can’t sort out, however difficult. If my children can grow up in the security of that truth then we will have done what we set out to do, we will have done a good job.

This entry was posted in ., Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What I will teach my children

  1. Joanna says:

    That’s such a great sentiment. I want that for Mersina as well. We can work out anything together. Lovely post. x

  2. Kathryn says:

    I remember a rare deep and meaningful conversation with my troubled teenage son when he told me that he knew whatever he did, however bad, that he could talk to me about it because I was his mum and he knew I loved him. A defining moment in my successful career as a mother 🙂

Leave a Reply

