Why GP, why?

Joni and I spent 48hrs in hospital this week. Probably at huge expense to the NHS, which could have 100% been avoided.

A few months ago a very good friend of mine was fighting for his life in hospital – he had a DVT which caused blood clots on his lungs – his heart stopped for 11 minutes and he was in intensive care for a week. Against all odds he survived. But it should never, ever had happened. He had been to the GP with the symptoms and was at risk already because he had a broken foot. The GP should have sent him straight to a&e for it to be dealt with. But he didn’t. And my friend nearly died because of it.

GP’s make a calculated judgement when they give advice to parents. Imagine a bell curve – the people at either end of the spectrum do not get the right treatment, but the majority (in the middle) do.

I have taken Joni to the GP 5 or 6 times in as many weeks with vomiting and diarrhoea. Antibiotics for a chest infection didn’t stop it – nothing did. Each time I went I was told that ‘babies get ill’ and ‘not to worry’. Of course I’ve been worried. I noticed she was losing weight and had her weighed and she had dropped 2 lines on the centile chart. The GP didn’t seem to take any notice of that.

After seeing the GP on Thursday morning I was beside myself with frustration and worry for my little girl. Her clothes were all suddenly to big for her and she wasn’t keeping anything at all down. I decided that if the GP wasn’t going to help then someone had to. So we went to a&e. Where they took me really seriously and Joni was admitted to the children’s ward.

Thank goodness. At last we would find out what was wrong. It turns out that we were right to be concerned as she would have kept being ill. She has a lactose intolerance, which could be temporary, which was making her ill.

So, by simply not having lactose for the last 72 hours we have our happy and healthy and hungry little girl back.

I am so disappointed that I wasn’t taken seriously by my GP, they could have easily spent more than 2 minutes reviewing her history and tried prescribing lactose free milk for a few days to see if it made a difference. By the time we got to hospital Joni was so ill that she had to be admitted – the GP could have intervened so much earlier and saved so much money for the NHS and worry for us.

This entry was posted in ., Parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why GP, why?

  1. eciton says:

    I think GPs see hypochondriacs so often that they automatically dismiss anything put in front of them, unfairly so. Susie has had the same in the past, many times. My doctor in Windsor is awesome, which is why I haven’t registered for one in Reading after four years!

    I guess the lesson for me is to use your GP as a service, not an authority, and feel free to ignore them when your instincts tell you to! Glad everything went OK for you in the end 🙂

Leave a Reply

