The Dirty Flange

I haven’t blogged for a very long time – life has been incredibly busy, and a lot has happened!

Firstly, we moved house – on Joni’s 6 Month Birthday! We had the wonderful and kind help of friends to remove all of our things, of which there were a lot. Even though I had sold loads on eBay, Chris had gone to the dump (now called Community Recycling Centre?!) no less than 5 times and I had distributed things to be stored at various parents houses. So, we moved. I feel a lot more at home in Wokingham and I love our little cottage – its smaller than where we lived before but I feel a lot more comfortable in this house, it feels like home.

It turns out that our old landlady, who we had previously thought was a batty posh woman in a nice way is actually a batty posh woman in a not very nice (if a little comical) way. She was absolutely determined to get some money from us – probably to make up for the fact that she had lost out of a couple of weeks rent in between tenants. She came up with lots of phantom things that were wrong with the house, not least The Dirty Flange. She actually emailed saying that she was “upset with the dirty flange”. It took me quite a while to work out what the hell she was going on about, surely maintenance of her lady parts is not part of the tenancy agreement? It turns out she was actually talking about the seal of the washing machine, ok – so we hadn’t cleaned it – but I have never lived in a rented house where the landlord has got upset about this. Chris had to actually go back to the house to clean her flange on our way home from holiday in Majorca. Eventually she conceded and gave us all our money back. What a nutcase.

Three days after moving I went to trials at Wokingham Netball Club, it was ok. Only ok though as I felt very unfit and very frustrated that I wasn’t playing my best. I actually contemplated leaving before the last game as I really wasn’t enjoying it. But, I decided not to give up and was given the chance to play Centre – this is my favourite and I think best position so I played. I had already noted that the girl I was against was new to the game and kept running into people, and before we collided for the second time (I say collided, she definitively ran into me) I had a sudden thought to be careful. I ignored myself, we collided and I fell over. I heard a loud crack and knew something was badly wrong. Anyway, the bottom line was that I had broken my ankle. Usually, this is a bit rubbish for a few weeks, life is a bit annoying and then its all ok. But with a 6 month old baby and a new house full of boxes it was pretty bad. If you follow me on twitter you will know that I have moaned incessantly about it. Not weight bearing, being in pain and being alone for 12 hours a day with a 6 month old baby are utterly incompatible.

I have had a lot of help from people though. Some lovely, lovely friends on Twitter sent some lovely flowers and chocolates and another sent Chocolate Brownies. My Dad has made us 3 meals every week and enlisted friends to visit and cook for us too. My Mum has helped a lot with Joni as have countless other people so we have been ok. The great thing about living here is that I have lots of friends and family near by. Not least my little nephew Evan who insisted this week on kissing my poorly foot better. So adorable.

I am beginning to see light at the end of the tunnel now and cannot wait to be able to carry Joni upstairs and around the house again and walk to the shops with her.

I am going to blog seperately about our holiday and Joni’s new “I have a cold” calling card.

Thank you, thank you, thank you, to everyone who has helped us over the last few weeks. I am not joking when I say I would have had a mental breakdown without you!

This entry was posted in ., Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Dirty Flange

  1. Joanna says:

    That awful girl! I felt so American for a moment when I read about your netball incident and thought ‘sue her’. How utterly reckless. But anyway, glad you’re feeling better and it’s nearly over.xx

Leave a Reply

